ICIP 2018 Innovation Program: Bringing Industry to ICIP

The ICIP 2018 Innovation Program will bring leading industry technologists to speak in two sessions. The first session will honor recipients of ICIP Visual Innovation Awards. The second session will feature speakers who are developing promising emerging technologies in industry.

Visual Innovation Awards

First awarded at ICIP 2016, the ICIP Visual Innovation Awards are awarded to individuals and teams whose visual technology innovations has had a significant impact on products in industry. Award recipients are selected by the Innovation Program committee, and announced in advance. During the Visual Innovation Awards session, award recipients will speak about the technological challenges they faced when developing their award winning products and describe remaining technology challenges.

The 2018 Visual Innovation Award Winners are: GoPro and Skype. Accepting the awards and speaking are Sandor Barna (GoPro) and David Zhao (Skype)

Sandor Barna
GoPro’s Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer

Sandor oversees all efforts related to GoPro technology including GoPro’s hardware and software engineering teams – who are responsible for making GoPro’s world-class products. Prior to GoPro, Barna served in senior leadership roles at Aptina Imaging, Micron Technology’s Image Sensor Group, and Photobit Corporation. Dr. Barna holds a Ph.D. and an MA in Physics from Princeton University, and a BS in Physics from Yale University.

Dr. David Zhao
Engineering Manager for Real-Time Media Intelligence for Skype and Teams at Microsoft

David has spent his last eleven years working on improving the video calling and conferencing experience, for good and bad networks, and on desktop and mobile devices. David received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from KTH (Royal Institute of Technology) in Stockholm in 2007.

Industry Emerging Technology Session

In the Industry Emerging Technologies session, leading technologists from industry working on promising emerging topics will speak about their projects and will share their vision of innovative visual technology products.

The 2018 speakers are: Christian Timmerer (Bitmovin), Hong Jiang (Intel), and Nick Mitchell (Technicolor).

Christian Timmerer
Chief Innovation Officer Head of Research and Standardization.co-founder of Bitmovin Inc

An Associate Professor with Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Klagenfurt, Austria. His research interests include immersive multimedia communications, streaming, adaptation, and Quality of Experience (QoE). He coauthored seven patents and more than 190 publications in workshops, conferences, journals, and book chapters. Dr. Timmerer was the General Chair of WIAMIS 2008, QoMEX 2013, ACM MMSys 2016, and ACM Packet Video 2018. He participated in several EC-funded projects, notably, DANAE, ENTHRONE, P2P-Next, ALICANTE, SocialSensor, ICoSOLE, and the COST Action IC1003 QUALINET. He also participated in ISO/MPEG work for several years, notably, in the areas of MPEG- 21, MPEG-M, MPEG-V, and MPEG-DASH. Further information can be found at http://blog.timmerer.com

Hong Jiang
Intel Fellow and the director of GPU Compute Architecture in Core and Visual Computing Group at Intel Corporation

Previously Jiang was the chief media architect for the Platform Engineering Group and director of the Visual and Parallel Computing Group’s Media Architecture. He led the media architecture of processor graphics and its derivatives, including the definition of media hardware and software assets and the group’s technology roadmap. Jiang held this position since 2002 and earned recognition for co-inventing the programmable Intel graphics architecture that has powered all Intel client PCs since 2006. Since joining Intel in 1996 in the graphics operation PCI Component Division as a platform architect he contributed to and co-edited key interconnect and video-coding standards. As a video architect, Jiang led video decoder and video capture hardware and software definition and implementation for chipset graphics products.

Hong Jiang was named Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in 2015 for leadership in parallel multimedia computing architectures and systems. He earned a Ph.D. degree in ECE from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Nick Mitchell
Technicolor Experience Center

Nick’s an innovative media technologist with a passion for enabling creativity and producing next-level experiences. Until a year or 2 ago, he spent 20 years developing digital cinema technologies and services, building world-class facilities and workflows for theatrical content mastering and distribution at Technicolor and Deluxe Technicolor Digital Cinema.

In November of 2016, Nick set out on a new journey, rejoining Technicolor as the Vice President of Immersive Technology at the all new Technicolor Experience Center in Culver City. The TEC supports and showcases the company’s exploration and development of new and emerging production technologies and services. Part incubator, part showroom, part experimental virtual production stage. Using the latest and greatest motion virtual, augmented and mixed reality (XR) devices, the TEC aims to find new and adjacent industry opportunities where Technicolor and its brands and partners can bring the value of their technical and creative offerings to new verticals and areas of industry.

Innovation Program Committee

Chairs: Jill Boyce (Intel), Haohong Wang (TCL Research America)
Members: Alex Eleftheriadis (Vidyo ), Joel Jung (Orange Labs), Wen-fu Kao (Intel), Yao Lu (Owlii), Lionel Oisel (Technicolor), Alexis Tourapis (Apple), Anthony Vetro (Mitsubishi), Heather Yu (Huawei)